June 13, 2021

WhatsApp does not finally limit the functions to users who do not accept its new terms of use


WhatsApp logo.

WhatsApp logo.
Reuters

Users who do not accept the new Conditions and Privacy policy of WhatsApp they will not have any limited access to their functions, contrary to what the company indicated at the beginning of May, when it announced that those who did not do so would see their service progressively limited.

The company has indicated in its Help Center that “No user account will be deleted or access to WhatsApp functions will not be removed May 15th due to this update “, in which the changes to the terms of service have been included.

The new decision assumes that there is no consequence for not accepting the new Conditions and Privacy policy released in the update available from May 15, at least at this time.

The company has ensured that “most of the users who saw the update accepted it”, and indicates that they will continue to show a notification in the application to those users who have not accepted the new conditions.

WhatsApp announced at the beginning of January that not accepting the new conditions of use, which include a new policy on the data that the app collects about users and their treatment, would lead to the elimination of the account. After that, the update that included the new conditions it was postponed from February to May 15.

Later, the company retracted, and reported in February that it would not delete accounts and that it would launch periodic reminders to users, limiting some available functions.

The company changed the criteria at the beginning of May, at which point it indicated that users who did not accept the conditions of the May 15 update would see the limited functions progressively with As the weeks go by

.



Source link