Van der Poel, again world champion of cyclocross

The Dutch Mathieu Van der Poel won this Sunday in Dübendorf (Switzerland) his third world title in cyclocross, by winning the British Thomas Pidcock and the Belgian Toon Aerts.

World champion in 2015 and 2019, Mathieu Van der Poel renewed his reign after completing the seven laps in a fully muddy circuit in one hour, 8 minutes and 52 seconds.

In the first round, Mathieu Van der Poel already opened a gap of 25 seconds on Toon Aerts and 31 on Thomas Pidcock, which left no doubt of his intentions in Dübendorf.

Neither could reach him, but both starred in a great fight for the second position.

In the end, Pidcock took the silver medal, 80 seconds behind the winner. He is the first Briton to climb the podium in the elite category of a World Cyclocross Championship.

Toon Aerts took the bronze (+1: 45).

Alicante's Felipe Orts, fourteenth, was the best Spanish. He finished 7 minutes and 58 seconds from Van der Poel.


Source link