August 2, 2021

Twitter tests the option to untag tweets


The untag button is displayed when a user has been mentioned.

The untag button is displayed when a user has been mentioned.
SHUTTERSTOCK

The platform Twitter is developing a new function with which it allows its users to untag themselves in tweets from other accounts that have mentioned them.

The new function of Twitter aims to give control to users of the social network to disassociate themselves from conversations they do not want to be part of, as Twitter’s privacy designer Dominic Camozzi has reported in his personal account.

The untag button is displayed when a user has been mentioned in someone else’s tweet, and the option is found in the more information menu that accompanies each publication, illustrated by three dots.

The function makes the link to the user’s account stops appearing in the tweet, but the person to whom the original posting was made is not informed of this, as screenshots of the still-in-development feature shared by Camozzi have shown.

In addition, Twitter plans to incorporate other additional functions to give more control over privacy in mentions, such as new special notifications to notify when an account that does not follow the user mentions him in a tweet.

In cases where, after receiving one of these special notifications, the user chooses to untag the tweet, the original author will not be able to re-tag this person in the future.

Twitter settings also allow let users manually select which accounts are restricted from mentioning them in their publications. In addition, it offers the possibility of blocking all mentions for a certain time (one, three or seven days) as a break.

Another feature in development seeks to control when a user begins to be mentioned in bulk. First, they receive a notification to let them know, and then they have the option to review them and change their notifications to control the situation.

.



Source link