The prestigious magazine Granta distinguishes the writer Andrea Abreu among the best 25 young authors in Spanish

The writer Andrea Abreu (Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, 1995) has been distinguished among the best 25 young narrators of current Spanish literature by the prestigious literary magazine Granta. The author of Donkey belly (Editorial Barrett, 2020), revulsive of the letters that has crept into the heart of the reading community and letter-wounded of more and more latitudes, has established itself in the literary scene with this written narrative debut with the force of an erupting volcano.

Behind him, Abreu treasures two previous poetic publications, Woman without eyelids (2017) and the fanzine Spring that bleeds (2017) and is also co-director of the Alcalá de Henares Young Poetry Festival. But it was his first novel, edited by the writer Sabina Urraca, which it has inaugurated its own place on the national literary map. Set in his hometown of Los Piquetes, Donkey belly tells the story of friendship between two girls, who accompany each other through the vertical streets of this Tenerife town "like a pack of yoghurts for sale." His desire, his sexual awakening or first readings of his environment are linked to the approach to various issues such as touristification on the islands or realities such as bulimia, which Abreu recounts through an honest, experimental and unprejudiced representation of Canarian speech as a formal mechanism . The meteoric success of Panza de burro translates into more than 20,000 copies sold; its translation into English, French, Italian and German, among other languages; and a future adaptation to the big screen. “I went home on the tram with my cell phone to my ear waiting for the list of the best young storytellers in Spanish from Granta magazine to be announced. I heard my name and breathed. I imagined myself on stage, like when I presented the Scale in Hi-Fi dressed in the 60s, thanking the Canarian people for believing in me, ”Abreu wrote yesterday on his social networks.

Magazine Granta began its nomination selection process in February last year, targeting writers under 35 years of age with at least one published book. Subsequently, a jury made up of six professional linguists made the final selection out of a total of 200 writers, among whom an initial screening of 60 was made. Last June, each member of the jury proposed a first list of 20 finalists among which After several deliberations, the final selection was made. Inclusion in this prestigious list of authors entails the publication of unpublished texts by the authors in the Spanish and English editions of this journal, created in 1889 by students of the University of Cambridge and precedent of the success of then novice authors such as the poet Sylvia Plath.

The list includes the following authors: Irene Reyes-Noguerol (Spain, 1997), Andrea Abreu (Spain, 1995), Munir Hachemi (Spain, 1989), David Aliaga (Spain, 1989), Cristina Morales (Spain, 1985), Alejandro Morellón (Spain, 1985), Aniela Rodríguez (Mexico, 1992), Andrea Chapela (Mexico, 1990), Aura García-Junco (Mexico, 1989), Mateo García Elizondo (Mexico, 1987), Camila Fabbri (Argentina, 1989) , Michel Nieva (Argentina, 1988), Martín Felipe Castagnet (Argentina, 1986), Carlos Manuel Álvarez (Cuba, 1989), Dainerys Machado Vento (Cuba, 1986), Eudris Planche Savón (Cuba, 1985), Paulina Flores (Chile, 1988), Diego Zúñiga (Chile, 1987), Estanislao Medina Huesca (Equatorial Guinea, 1990), Mónica Ojeda (Ecuador, 1988), Carlos Fonseca (Costa Rica, 1987), José Adiak Montoya (Nicaragua, 1987), Miluska Benavides ( Peru, 1986), José Ardila (Colombia, 1985) and Gonzalo Baz (Uruguay, 1985).


Source link