The Museo del Prado has replicated in a room known as the Cabinet of Rest of their Majesties, space enabled in 1828 for the rest of Fernando VII and which includes in an adjoining room the toilet of the monarch, made by Ángel Maeso and the only piece of furniture that original preserves of the royal collections.
"We wanted to transfer the aesthetic experience of two centuries ago, recovering a space destined exclusively for the Royal Families and management personnel, being at the time the least visited space in the museum", explained Pedro J. Martínez, technician of the Department of Conservation of 19th century painting of the art gallery.
In the original cabinet, located on the first floor of the museum, in front of the Botanical Garden, there were 54 paintings, of which 44 have been assembled based on the inventory of 1834. For this, only two rooms of the Prado have been altered to move works and has had the deposits of four other institutions.
The 'Jura of Fernando VII as Prince of Asturias', by Luis Paret; the portrait of Carlos IV by Lorenzo Tiépolo or 'Queen María Luisa con mantilla', by Agustín Esteve according to Francisco de Goya, are some of the works that hang in this room, which are accompanied by numerous still lifes.
Of the originals, Martínez has highlighted for example the absence of the work of 'The family of Carlos IV, of Goya, which remains in "an emblematic site" of the museum. "But it has certainly been a challenge to fit in a space as small as this one to half a hundred paintings," he added.
Also the disposition of some of the works, as they were in the original period, have supposed some "headache" for those responsible for the project, since they must be at a difficult height for visitors. "Both the lighting and the 'nod' of the tables are prepared so that the public can see clearly," he stressed.
In addition to the real spaces, a small place was also incorporated for the cleanliness and personal hygiene that has been recovered, with the furniture of Maeso included. The private character of the room remained until 1865, when Federico de Madrazo decided to open the space and add new real portraits to space.
In addition to the physical space, this exhibition has virtual tours that can be done in the same room and an immersive virtual reality experience, available on the museum's website.