Mon. Dec 16th, 2019

The order of the investiture debate and the voting regulations

The president of the Congress, Meritxell Batet, will begin the investiture debate at 12 o'clock, when he will call Pedro Sánchez to expose his government program, without a time limit. The plenary session resumed at 4pm with the opposition groups. Each one has 30 minutes of initial intervention, ten of reply and five for the counter-reply. No speech will begin after 8.30 pm; they resume on Tuesday at 9 a.m.

By order, they will speak Pablo Casado (PP, 66 deputies), Albert Rivera (Cs, 57), Pablo Iglesias (UP, 42), Santiago Abascal (Vox, 24), Gabriel Rufián (ERC, 15 seats that stay in 14 by the suspension of Junqueras), Aitor Esteban (PNV, 6) and the mixed representatives, starting with Laura Borràs (JxCat, 7, which is 4 due to the suspension of Sànchez, Turull and Rull), followed by Bildu (4), Navarra Sum (2), Canary Coalition (2), Commitment (1) and PRC (1). The spokesperson of the PSOE (123), Adriana Lastra, will close. Sanchez can ask for the word whenever he wants and replicate one by one, as usual, or in blocks. After the debate, Batet will set the time for the vote.

In the first ballot 326 numbered balls will be placed in a sack in alphabetical order of the names of the deputies. The nine members of the Bureau and the fifteen members of the Government are not in that bag. A secretary of the Table will extract a ball and the deputy to whom it corresponds the number will be the first to vote.

The vote, in an investiture debate, is yes, no or abstention, which the deputy will have to say loudly when he hears his name. The members of the Government, the Bureau and the president of the Congress vote at the end. The spokeswoman of Unidas Podemos, Irene Montero, will use the telematic system, since she will not be able to attend due to her advanced state of pregnancy.

Source link