January 16, 2021

The Kings travel to Oviedo today for the events of the Princess Asturias Awards

The Kings travel to Oviedo today for the events of the Princess Asturias Awards

The Kings travel to Oviedo today to participate in the events organized to mark the 38th edition of the Princess of Asturias Awards, whose award ceremony will take place tomorrow, Friday, at the Campoamor Theater.

Don Felipe and Mrs. Letizia will be in Asturias until Saturday, when they will complete their agenda with the visit to Exemplary Town, a distinction that this year has fallen on Mual, belonging to the council of Cangas del Narcea.

As Felipe VI already anticipated last August in Mallorca, this year will not be the premiere at the gala of the awards of Princess Leonor, who holds the honorary presidency of the Princess of Asturias Foundation since the relay took place in Corona and the awards changed their name.

The program of events in Oviedo de los Reyes will open this afternoon, although they will do it separately.

Doña Letizia will participate in the tribute that will be given to the American director Martin Scorsese, who this year has been distinguished with the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts 2018.

The event (5:00 pm) will take place at the Weapons Factory of La Vega, a converted space to host the various activities organized to pay tribute to the New York director.

In parallel, Don Felipe will receive in audience the Board of Trustees of the Foundation for Biosanitary Research and Innovation in the Principality of Asturias (Finba) at the Reconquista Hotel.

Later, the Kings will attend the traditional concert of the Princess of Asturias Awards.

On Friday, the award ceremony will take place in the afternoon at the Campoamor Theater, which will also be attended by Queen Sofia.

In addition to Scorsese, the winners are the French writer Fred Vargas; the American philosopher Michael J. Sandel (Social Sciences); the investigative journalist Alma Guillermoprieto (Communication and Humanities) and the oceanographer Sylvia A. Earle (Concordia).

The list of winners of this edition is completed by the NGO Amref Health Africa (International Cooperation), the mountaineers Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki (Sports) and the Swedish paleontologist Svante Pääbo (Scientific and Technical Research).


Source link