April 11, 2021

The Government leads an anti-nuclear ecologist to the Nuclear Safety Council | Society

The Government leads an anti-nuclear ecologist to the Nuclear Safety Council | Society

The Government has decided to recompose the Nuclear Safety Council (CSN), an organ that in recent years has been dominated by the PP and involved in controversy. The Council of Ministers has agreed on Friday to propose the appointment of four new councilors and councilors of the CSN. Three of the names are proposed by the PSOE and one proposed by Podemos. The socialists recover control of a fundamental organ for the future of nuclear energy in Spain.

In the list of proposed names is a member of Ecologists in Action and a reference for the anti-nuclear movement, Francisco Castejón, the person who had proposed Podemos during the negotiation. The other three names proposed are the professor of atomic physics Elvira Romera Gutiérrez, the energy spokeswoman in the PSOE Congress, Pilar Lucio Carrasco, and the industrial engineer Josep María Serena i Sender. Castejón, besides being an ecologist, is a doctor in Physics and a member of Ciemat. "I will be neutral and transparent," he said after learning the proposal for his appointment.

The PSOE had tried to agree with the PP the renewal of the council of the CSN, the highest decision-making body, which has five members. But he has not achieved it and has decided to propose these four names. When the process is completed, of the five members of the council three will be there at the proposal of the PSOE, one of Podemos and another, whose mandate continues, from the PP.

The nomination proposal must now pass through Congress, specifically, by the Commission for Ecological Transition. It must vote each appointment and it will be considered accepted if three fifths of the members of that commission vote in favor. In any case, even if they do not get the votes, the Council of Ministers may also appoint them. The parliamentary sources consulted assure that, although adjusted, the deadlines to complete the appointment process are sufficient.

The period of tenure in office will be six years, and you can only opt for a second period of six years. The renewal takes place after four of the five members of the CSN have fulfilled the maximum time allowed in this institution.

This is a key organ in the nuclear sector. It must, for example, analyze the extensions requested by nuclear power plants to continue operating. In his hand is also the analysis of the Centralized Temporary Storage (ATC) for nuclear waste or the controversial uranium mine in Salamanca. In recent years, under the control of the PP, has been a focus of controversy to adopt some controversial decisions, such as giving a first authorization to the location of the ATC despite some technical doubts.


Source link