July 15, 2020

The Government begins the first steps to reopen the Schengen borders without publishing even the list of countries

The order published in the BOE by the Ministry of the Interior also establishes new exceptions for the crossing of people through the community territory, now including students who carry out their studies in the Member States or associated Schengen and who have the corresponding permit or visa.

Likewise, the transit of highly qualified workers whose work is necessary and cannot be postponed or carried out remotely will be allowed from Wednesday, July 1. Of course, these circumstances must be justified documentary.

This order, which comes after the Government extended the temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries to the European Union on June 22, does not yet include the list of countries, since the “work is being completed” on the same.

The 27 have until today at noon to approve or knock down the list of fifteen countries that their ambassadors negotiated until last Friday, but to which some capitals had reservations, which is why negotiations have continued over the weekend.

The list of countries whose nationals will be the first to enter the EU includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, Georgia and China, which In the case of China, the lifting of the veto will be subject to reciprocity.

In this context, the order explains that the list refers to residence in the countries, not to the possession of their nationality. With them, the survey will be applied progressively and following reciprocity criteria, and the list may be periodically modified including additions and cancellations.


In parallel, it includes categories of travelers who are exempt from the restrictions, regardless of their place of origin, such as residents who go to their place of residence, holders of a long-term visa issued by a member country to which they are direct and cross-border workers.

In addition, health professionals, including health researchers, and elderly care professionals who are going to or returning from carrying out their work activities, personnel dedicated to the transport of goods, military, diplomatic or consular personnel are authorized to travel.

Likewise, displacement is allowed to members of humanitarian organizations, and those people who prove causes of force majeure or a situation of need or whose entry is allowed for humanitarian reasons, and people who travel for family reasons, duly accredited imperatives.

In this sense, people registered as residents who go directly to their place of residence in another member state, Schengen, Andorra, Monaco, The Vatican, San Marino or the spouse of a Spanish citizen, are allowed to enter Spain, among others. or partner with whom he maintains a union analogous to the conjugal registered in a public registry, and those ancestors and descendants who live in his charge, whenever they travel with or to meet with him.

All of the above will not be applicable at the land border with Andorra or at the people control post with the territory of Gibraltar.

On the other hand, the order also establishes that the closure is maintained, on a temporary basis, of the land posts enabled for entry and exit from Spain through the cities of Ceuta and Melilla.


Source link