May 13, 2021

The extension of the EU entry restriction takes effect at midnight

The Official State Gazette publishes this Tuesday the extension from midnight until May 15 of the temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries to the European Union and associated Schengen countries due to the coronavirus crisis.

The order maintains for a period of another 30 days the limitations agreed on March 17 by the European Council to strengthen external borders by temporarily restricting non-essential travel to the EU and preventing the spread of contagion.

Aware that the publication of the previous order has generated “certain interpretative doubts”, the new resolution of the Ministry of the Interior specifies the categories of people exempt from the travel restriction.

These include diplomatic staff and residents of the EU, as well as their partner and their ascendants and descendants, and residents of the partner states Schengen or Andorra, who go directly to their place of residence.

Long-term residents, cross-border workers, health or elderly care professionals who go to or return from carrying out their work activities, personnel dedicated to the transport of goods in the exercise of their activity, including crew members, are also exempt. ships, and flight personnel.

In addition, those traveling for family reasons with duly accredited imperatives and those who document documentary reasons of force majeure or need, or whose entry is allowed for humanitarian reasons, are excluded from the prohibition.

These provisions do not affect either the land border with Andorra or the people control post with the territory of Gibraltar.

On a temporary basis, the closure of the land posts enabled for the entry and exit of Spain through the cities of Ceuta and Melilla is maintained.

The order comes into force at 00:00 hours on Wednesday, April 22, and will be valid until 24:00 on May 15, without prejudice to any extensions that may be agreed by the European Union.


Source link