September 23, 2020

The European Peace Fund of Colombia expands to 120 million euros

The European Peace Fund of Colombia expands to 120 million euros

The European Union (EU) increased the capital of the European Peace Fund of Colombia to 120 million euros (about 137 million dollars) that will be invested in development programs, victims and reincorporation, said that legation today.

The Fund had until now a capital of 96.5 million euros (about 110 million dollars).

The expansion of the fund was approved in the third strategic council of the European Fund where the European Commission confirmed 20 million euros (some 22.8 million dollars), Spain three million (some 3.4 million dollars) and the Czech Republic He also announced an additional contribution.

Germany is also studying a possible contribution of up to three million euros (some 3.4 million dollars), while other EU members study new contributions in amounts to be defined.

The announcement was made today in coincidence with the visit to the country of the Director General of International Cooperation and Development of the EU, Stefano Manservisi, together with the Director for Latin America and the Caribbean of the General Directorate of Cooperation of the EU, Jolita Butkeviciene, and of the special envoy for peace in Colombia, Eamon Gilmore.

The three moved today to La Montañita, a town in the southern department of Caquetá, where peace implementation programs supported by the EU are carried out.

On the other hand, Chile announced its intention to participate financially in the Fund, with which it would become "the first Latin American country to be linked to the bloc's cooperation," the statement added.

Among the objectives of the Fund are to support Colombia in the development of the zones affected by the armed conflict, the reincorporation of ex-combatants and the implementation of the peace agreement.

The initiatives of the fund, created after the signing of the peace agreement between the Government and the FARC guerrillas in November 2016, are carried out in 51 municipalities in 11 of the 32 Colombian departments.


Source link