July 29, 2021

The European Chamber recognizes Junqueras and Puigdemont as MEPs

The European Parliament (EP) has recognized the independence leaders Oriol Junqueras, Carles Puigdemont and Toni Comín as MEPs.

This decision comes despite the resolution of the Spanish Central Electoral Board (JEC) that determined that Junqueras, sentenced to 13 years in prison for sedition and embezzlement, cannot be MEP.

In an internal notification of the EP to which Efe had access, the European Chamber specifies that the recognition of independentist politicians as members of the European Parliament will be effective during the plenary session that begins next January 13.

“Following the ruling of the Court of Justice of the European Union of December 19, 2019, during the plenary session of January 13, 2020, the European Parliament takes note of the election as members of the European Parliament of Antoni Comín i Oliveres, Oriol Junqueras i Vies and Carles Puigdemont i Casamajó “, reads in the Eurocamara brief.


Source link