The company Marie de Jongh, National Award of Performing Arts for Children and Youth 2018 | Culture

The company Marie de Jongh, National Award of Performing Arts for Children and Youth 2018 | Culture

The Basque company Marie de Jongh has been awarded this Monday with the National Performing Arts Award for Children and Youth for 2018. This Basque collective, creator of a personal style of gestural theater, has become a reference for its unique handling of masks, not only among the family audience but with their shows for adults, such as Amour, his most well-known work, with which they have been touring for years and which won a Max prize in 2017.

The jury of this award, awarded by the Ministry of Culture through the National Institute of Performing Arts and Music (INAEM), underlines in its opinion "the permanent commitment to society that is reflected in the issues that the company faces in his shows, through a gestural language in which words are not necessary and in which aesthetic quality leads to great beauty and emotion ".

Marie de Jongh, founded in 2008, is presented as a collective of "children's theater for adults and adult theater for children". In addition to its special language, highlights the sensitivity with which has approached taboo issues such as child abuse, marginalization of the elderly, homosexual love or abuse of animals through assemblies with an unquestionable artistic and technical value. Other assemblies of the company, apart from Amour, are Star, Why are you crying, Marie?, Kibubu, Humans Y Dear daughter.

The jury of the award, endowed with 30,000 euros, was chaired by the general director of the National Institute of Performing Arts and Music (INAEM), Amaya de Miguel, and has been integrated by Enrique Cabrera, choreographer, teacher and director of the company Aracaladanza; Idoya Otegui, director of Titirijai (International Puppet Festival of Tolosa) and TOPIC (International Puppet Center of Tolosa); Jorge Padín Quintanal, founder of the company "Ultramarinos de Lucas" (National Award for Performing Arts for Children and Youth 2015); Eulàlia Ribera, director of LaSala Teatre and president of ASSITEJ Spain; Cristina Santolaria, theatrical expert; Cristina Sánchez Muñoz, on the proposal of the University Institute of Women's Studies (IUEM) of the Autonomous University of Madrid, Mª José Astillero Fuentes, representing the Pupaclown Foundation-awarded with this same prize last year-and with the deputy director general of INAEM Theater, Fernando Cerón, as vice president.

In other editions the prize has been awarded The Puppeteers of Binéfar (2009), Aracaladanza (2010), La Rous Teatro (2011), Teatro Paraíso (2012), Teloncillo Teatral Machine SL (2013), the Puppet Company, etc. (2014) , Compañía Ultramarinos de Lucas (2015), María José Frías Arevalillo (2016) and Pupaclown (2017), among other collectives.


Source link