January 18, 2021

The Canary Islands Cup of Speed ​​closes the cycle with a resistance race – La Provincia

The Canary Islands Speed ​​Cup CCV Motoclub Podium-Cabildo Trophy of Gran Canaria 2018 season closes on next Sunday with holding a postponed career and sued stubbornly by pilots and teams. A strategy test in which the lap time is not the only factor that will decide the positions on the podium.

After more than a year without sports activity, the competition returns with the specialty of resistance. An interesting three-hour test is held on the long course of the Maspalomas circuit. This appointment is the necessary and demanded final touch to a campaign that was frustrated its normal development for reasons beyond the organizer.

A total of 22 pilots, framed in 14 teams, will take part in a race that has among its incentives an exit to the Le Mans style. Participants, in batches of 45 minutes maximum, will be adding to your locker as many turns as possible to a 4,200 meters long.

At 9.00 the pit line will open to take the times and form the traditional exit training of the resistance tests, in front of the main stage of the circuit. The riders will run at full speed towards their motorcycles at 11.00, at which time the engines will come alive to give maximum performance.

In the purely sporting section, the Alonso brothers, Juan and Fran, lead the regional resistance classification in the Stock Extreme category, and they will try to make good the forecasts on the Suzuki GSX-R1000 of Alonso Competition and repeat victory, as they already did with the first race of the 2018 season.

In Supersport, the Moto Group Guanil team formed by Huertas, Ñito and Kenny – father and son – will seek to revalidate the victory with a Kawasaki ZX-6R that will arrive very fair to the race after an unexpected fall, without physical consequences, last weekend. Teo Kursón and Miguel Ángel Santana (Tati) will try to make things difficult for them with the Kawasaki ZX-6R of MotoBoxes.

Jeremy Bernet (Team Manolin) and David Santos (MD Competition) will be the great animators of the Duo category (two riders with two motorcycles) on the Honda CBR1000RR and Kawasaki ZX-10R and will try to fight for the absolute victory in the race. The team of Víctor Trujillo and Francisco J. Araña (Painting Trujillo), with Honda CBR1000RR, and that of Fabián del Rosario and Enrique Pacheco (Etelcom Racing Team), with Suzuki GSX-R1000, complete this category.
Irene Canary (Irenmoto) and Elías Rosado will form the mixed tandem of Hit-Air Airbags in the Extreme Stock category with a Suzuki GSX-R1000. Pacuco Bolaños and Adrián Bolaños (Motowatio) will be the third team in discord at Supersport with Yamaha YZF R-6.

Six pilots run in the Mono category. These have to face the three hours of the race alone, with obligatory rest periods, are Agustín Suárez (MotoBoxes – Yamaha YZF R-6), Germán González (Moto Guanil Group Pole Position-Kawasaki Z750), Víctor Sosa (Yoigo La Ballena -Honda CBR600), Diego González (MD Competition-Honda CBR1000RR), Sergio Bolaños (Team Julio Competition-Honda CBR600) and Ricardo Vicente (Vimar 84 Glassware- Suzuki GSX-R1000).


Source link