April 11, 2021

The Academy confirms that the Oscars will not have a master of ceremonies this year

The Academy confirms that the Oscars will not have a master of ceremonies this year

The Hollywood Academy and ABC television confirmed that the 91st edition of the Oscars will be held without a master of ceremonies, something that does not happen in the great gala of the cinema for 30 years.

The confirmation came today from a public relations of the chain, which is responsible for issuing the ceremony in the US, and the organization itself, which wanted to finally shelve a matter that had been speculating for weeks.

In fact, during the traditional luncheon of nominees, which was held this Monday in Los Angeles (California), several specialized media advanced that finally the gala would run without a single presenter.

The black comedian Kevin Hart, one of the most popular at present in the country, announced on December 4 that he would be the presenter of the Oscars, some awards that will be delivered on February 24.

After the announcement of the comedian, social networks recalled old messages with homophobic content of Hart that were published on Twitter between 2009 and 2011.

Before the critics, Hart opted first to haggle the reproaches, later it avoided to apologize and, finally, it ended up asking pardon and resigning to lead the show.

The last time the Oscars were held without a master of ceremonies was in 1989, when the producer Allan Carr decided to gather a host of illustrious names on stage instead of having only one presenter.

The Academy announced on Monday that the Venezuelan Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra will perform during the segment of the ceremony aimed at remembering the deaths of the industry in recent months.

In addition, the organization announced the first wave of presenters who will speak during the ceremony: Awkwafina, Daniel Craig, Chris Evans, Tina Fey, Whoopi Goldberg, Brie Larson, Jennifer Lopez, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Amanda Stenberg, Charlize Theron, Tessa Thompson and Constance Wu.


Source link