Tenerife’s photojournalist Andrés Gutiérrez wins the contest ‘Cristóbal García’

The Tenerife photojournalist Andres Gutierrez has won the first edition of the Canary Islands documentary and informative photography contest ‘Cristóbal García’, in which three photographers have also been awarded in different categories for works published in the Agency Eph.

The first edition of this award, organized by the Los Llanos de Aridane City Council (La Palma) and the Isla Bonita Photography Center, is named after the photographer from the Efe Agency in Tenerife Cristóbal García, who died last September.

The first individual prize in the Society category an image of Carlos de Saa, a collaborating photographer for the EFE Agency in Fuerteventura, who portrays two immigrants while they observe a luxury cruise ship docked on the island.

Also in this modality, the jury has given an individual honorable mention to Angel Medina for a photograph taken during confinement and in which a young woman is observed sunbathing on the roof of her building, while another neighbor takes the opportunity to run.

Medina, collaborating photographer in the delegation of The Gran Canarian palms, has been the winner of the series on immigration, with different images of the arrival of migrants to the port of Arguineguín and the reception centers.

In the category ICU Covid, the winner was the photographer Ramon de la Rocha, collaborator in the Efe delegation in Santa Cruz de Tenerife, with images of toilets in the Intensive Care Unit during the months of the pandemic.

In the category of Politics, Angel Medina wins the second Individual Prize with an image of the former mayor of Santa Lucía de Tirajana (Gran Canaria) for Nueva Canarias, Dunia González.

The second individual prize in the portrait category It is for the also collaborator of Efe Las Palmas Quique Curbelo, with a photo of Gloria Poyatos, magistrate of the Superior Court of Justice of the Canary Islands and president of the Spanish Association of Women Judges, in this case made for the newspaper THE PROVINCE.

In this contest, the photographer Andrés Gutiérrez has been named photographer of the year while Rubén Acosta, Gerardo Ojeda, José Luis Méndez and Nando Rivero have also been awarded.

The jury for this award has been made up of the Reuters Agency photojournalist and 2020 Pulitzer Prize winner, Susana Vera; the ‘freelance’ and King of Spain 2014 award, Pedro Armestre; the head of photography for the newspaper El País and winner of the Ortega y Gasset 2011 award, Cristóbal Manuel; the ‘freelance’ and double World Press Photo 2007, Arturo Rodríguez; and, as secretary, the head of photography for Diario de Avisos, Fran Pallero.


Source link