Spain quarantines 12 countries, including Brazil, Colombia and Peru

Madrid, Apr 17 (EFE) .- Spain has extended the mandatory ten-day quarantine for passengers coming from Brazil, Peru and Colombia, as well as from nine African countries, in order to prevent the spread of new variants of the coronavirus.

The order is published this Saturday in the Official State Gazette (BOE) and represents the third extension of this measure established by the Ministry of Health on March 2. This time it will be in force until at least May 3.

The measure establishes that people arriving by flight from any airport in the aforementioned South American countries or from South Africa, Botswana, the Union of Comoros, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia or Zimbabwe must keep a quarantine for the ten days following their arrival. arrival or during your entire stay in Spain if it is less than that period.

The BOE recalls that the quarantine “can only be suspended on the seventh day if the person undergoes a diagnostic test for active infection with a negative result.”

During this quarantine period, people arriving from those countries must remain at their home or accommodation and will limit access to it by third parties.

They will also have to restrict their travels to what is essential: buying food, pharmaceuticals or basic necessities; assistance to health centers or causes of force majeure.

“Concerns about the effects of the Brazilian and South African variants remain, both in terms of their impact due to greater transmissibility, the risk of reinfections and a possible decrease in vaccine efficacy, as well as their extension to neighboring countries. to where they were initially detected, many of which have a limited degree of development of surveillance, detection and notification capabilities “, specifies the BOE.


Source link