Sainz third after Vettel’s disqualification in Hungary

The Spanish pilot, Carlos Sainz.

The Spanish pilot, Carlos Sainz.

The German Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), who finished second this Sunday on Hungarian Grand Prix, the eleventh of the F1 World Cup, he was disqualified at the end of the race with less than a liter of fuel in his car; so all those who qualified behind him advance one place and the Spanish Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) takes the podium, as third.

The sanction to Vettel, initially second in the race won by Frenchman Esteban Ocon, partner of the other Spaniard, Fernando Alonso, in Alpine it also implies that the Asturian double world champion, who had been fifth, was definitively classified in fourth position. And that the sevenfold English world champion Lewis hamilton (Mercedes), who had snatched the lead from the Dutch Max verstappen (Red Bull), he commands the general of the contest with eight points of advantage instead of six (195 against 187).

Sainz’s third place is the fourth podium since he competed in the premier class of the talented Madrid rider, who happens to be sixth in the World Cup, with 83 points, three more than his teammate, the Monegasque Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), who is now seventh.

With the changes, Alonso – who, initially, had fallen to twelfth – would continue to occupy eleventh place in the championship, with 38 points, eight more than Vettel, who instead of being ninth, is twelfth overall.

After the disqualification of the German, the two pilots of Alpha Tauri, the French Pierre Gasly -which marked the fastest lap- and the Japanese Yuki tsunoda, become fifth and sixth in the ranking of the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The canadian Nicholas latifi and English George Russell, who achieved their first points of the season this Sunday, the first for their team, Williams, by finishing just ahead of Verstappen; they are seventh and eighth. And the young Dutch star, ninth.

Finnish Kimi raikkonen (Alfa Romeo), who had been eleventh, added a point, being re-qualified as tenth in the race that was held at the Hungaroring.


Source link