July 7, 2020

Puerto Rico to Ask Travelers for 14-Day Quarantine or Molecular Test

The Governor of Puerto Rico, Wanda Vázquez, announced on Tuesday new rules for passengers landing on the island from abroad or the United States, such as a mandatory 14-day quarantine or a negative molecular test of COVID-19 in the previous 72 upon arrival on the island, from July 17.

Vázquez announced these measures in the face of the growing wave of coronavirus cases in the United States, which already registers more than two million infected and 126.00 deaths, and other countries in the region.

In addition, the governor said today that all travelers are required to wear a mask and must complete a form related to their health.

He also indicated that the 14 days in quarantine will be mandatory in case of not having a negative molecular test.

In turn, he remarked that if the traveler gets a negative serological test, this does not exempt him from quarantine.

The Puerto Rico Department of Health did not report deaths on Tuesday from COVID-19, which so far has been 153 deaths; while 55 confirmed positive cases and 120 additional probable cases were registered, totaling 7,465.

Probable cases are those with a positive serological test result.

The European Union will open from July 1 its external borders, closed since mid-March by the coronavirus crisis, to fourteen countries considered “safe”, including the United States, Brazil and Russia.

Member States approved this initial list by qualified majority on Tuesday, which will be reviewed every two weeks depending on the evolution of the pandemic.


Source link