June 21, 2021

Pello Bilbao is crowned the new champion of Spain against the clock – La Provincia

The Basque cyclist Pello Bilbao (Bahrain) has been proclaimed this Friday champion of Spain time trial for the first time in his career, after being the fastest in the 45-kilometer route between the towns of Cazorla and La Iruela in Jaén.

After finishing second last year behind Jonathan Castroviejo, Bilbao did not miss the absence of the last champion, who is concentrated with the Ineos preparing the Tour de France, and hung his first national gold.

The Bahrain team rider stopped the stopwatch at 1:03:32 and managed to outstrip veteran Luis León Sánchez (Astana) by 36 seconds, who was seeking his fifth title in the specialty. At least, the Murcian was able to celebrate his ninth medal in the Spanish Time Trial Championship since he opened his record in 2004.

He completed the podium with the bronze Gorka Izagirre (Astana), the other great favorite for the victory. The Gipuzkoan cyclist could not get into the fight for the gold and finished 1:36 behind the winner, while the fourth position went to Jaime Castrillo (Khen Pharma) with more than three minutes lost.

In the women’s category, Mavi García (Ljbubljana) achieved the second time trial gold of her career, repeating her success of two years ago. The Mallorcan woman stopped the clock at 44:00 and clearly beat Sara Martín (Sopelana) and Sheyla Gutiérrez (Movistar), silver and bronze at 1:46 and 1:55, respectively.


Source link