Fri. Apr 26th, 2019

Norman Foster and Rafael Moneo choose to reform the Fine Arts of Bilbao

Norman Foster and Rafael Moneo choose to reform the Fine Arts of Bilbao

Relevant names of architecture such as the Pritzker Awards Norman Foster and Rafael Moneo and recognized international architecture studios such as Japanese Sanaa they will compete to win the contest to reform the Museum of Fine Arts of Bilbao.

Sponsored Ads

Advertise Here

The jury in charge of selecting the architecture studios that will choose to carry out this expansion has met today, under the chairmanship of the director of the same and the centenary art gallery, Miguel Zugaza, and has chosen the six finalist studies from among the 57 applicants presented. One of the chosen ones has been the study of the renowned British architect and Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts in 2009, Norman Foster, who designed and executed the Bilbao Metro in the 90s of the last century.

He has also selected the study of the internationally awarded Navarro architect Rafael Moneo, Premo Pritzker (equivalent to the Nobel Prize for Architecture) in 1996, who, like Foster, has work in the Abandoibarra urban regeneration area in Bilbao, where he built the Library from the University of Deusto. Moneo is presented alone to the contest, as well as the study of the Madrid architect Nieto Sobejano, awarded with the Alvar Aalto medal, awarded by the Museum dedicated to the famous Finnish designer, and author, among other projects, of the Zaragoza Conference Center and the Contemporary Creation Center of Andalusia.

Among the chosen international studios is the Bjarke Ingels Group, better known by its acronym BIG, founded in 2005 and directed by the Danish architect Bjarke Ingels. His are the finished projects of the Danish Pavilion at the Expo 2010 in Shanghai (China), the Beach and Howe tower in Vancouver (Canada) and the construction of the New Tamayo Museum, in Mexico City, the National Library of Astana (Kazakhstan) and the Kaufhauskanal, Hamburg (Germany). The fifth international study chosen is the Norwegian Snohetta, founded in 1989 by Inge Dahlman, Berit Hartveit, Johan Johan Østengen, Alf Haukeland and Vanko Varbanov, among other Norwegian professionals.

It is a renowned international architecture, landscape and design firm based in Oslo, responsible, among other works, for the Library of Alexandria, in Egypt; the Oslo Opera, in Norway; the Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco and a restaurant submerged in Lindesnes (Norway). The latest study chosen is the Japanese Sanaa Jimusho, founded by the architect Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, who have been distinguished with the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2010. This Japanese study is responsible for the project to expand or reform many museum institutions such as the Valencian Institute of Modern Art, the Contemporary Art Museum in Sydney (Australia), the Modern Art Museum in New York and the installation of the Japan Pavilion for the Venice Biennale in 2000 .

The six elected will now have three months to present a project to reform and expand the Museum of Fine Arts in Bilbao, and the winning idea will be proclaimed between July 22 and 29. The winning studio will receive a prize of 30,000 euros, while the other 5 finalists will receive an economic compensation of 20,000 euros each for their participation. The final draft of the project will be endowed with a fee of 1,577,000 euros.

According to the calendar that the Museum manages, it is expected that the renovation and expansion works will begin between March and April 2021, which have an estimated duration of 18 months and which are completed and can be opened between September and October 2022. The expansion project has a total budget of 18 million euros.



Source link

Leave a Reply