Sat. Dec 14th, 2019

La Mala Rodríguez wins the National Prize for Current Music 2019

The Bad Rodriguez has been awarded with the National Prize for Current Music 2019 granted by the Ministry of Culture and Sports and is endowed with 30,000 euros. The jury has highlighted the Andalusian singer that "his appearance was a break both for his music and his attitude and lyrics" in a world hitherto dominated by men.

The ruling considers the Cadiz, born in Jérez de la Frontera in 1979, "a pioneer of a style such as urban music that, since its appearance two decades ago, has become essential in the field of popular music." In addition, he maintains that María Rodríguez Garrido – the real name of the artist – is “a source of inspiration for artists of successive generations”.

Spanish rap and urban music ambassador

The jury also stressed that the Cádiz "has taken the rap and urban music of our country all over the world, especially the American continent", and that "his songs build bridges between Latin music and Spanish popular music" In fact, his songs appear in Spanish, French, Mexican films and in the soundtrack of the movie "The Fast & The Furious" as well as several video games. In addition, his song "I Have a Deal" was featured on the Spotify playlist of former United States President Barack Obama.

The winner began her musical career after moving to Seville in her teens, when she began her interest in R’n’b, the disciplines related to soul, blues and hip hop and contacted several urban groups. His first model came in 1997 with the rap group La Mala and El Cuervo, and debuted as La Mala in 1999 with "Toma La Traca" and "A Jierro".

Shortly after he changed his stage name to Mala Rodríguez and published “Yo Marco el Minuto”, a sample of verses with which he leads a genre in which a woman had never triumphed until then. In 2000 he released his first album "Iberian Luxury", with which he became a gold record and three years later he returned to the wanderings with the maxi single "La Niña" and his second album, "Alevosía", with the which also achieved a gold record.

Other acknowledgments

But it was not until 2006 when it reached its great popularity thanks to the theme “Por la Noche”, which crossed borders, and with Malamarismo (2007) won an MTV Latin America award for Best Promise Artist of the year, work for which it was also nominated to the Latin Grammys and the MTV Europe Music Awards.

In 2010 the singer published a new album, "Dirty Dancer", which includes twelve songs with production by Foccus and Dj Griffi and with which she won the Latin Grammy Award for Best Urban Song for "Do not apologize." Also outstanding are his collaborations with artists such as Alejandro Sanz, Nelly Furtado, Julieta Venegas, Akon, Calle 13, Bajofondo, Romeo Santos, El Guincho and Juan Magán.

In 2013 La Mala Rodríguez managed to get hold of Latin Grammy for Best Urban Album thanks to his fifth album "Bruja", in which he brought together artists and producers of great influence in the hip hop scene.

"His appearance was a break both for his music and for his attitude and his lyrics"

Source link