July 6, 2020

Jean-Paul Dubois wins the Goncourt Spain Prize with “Not all men inhabit the world in the same way”

The French writer Jean-Paul Dubois has won the III edition of the Goncourt Spain Prize with “Tous les hommes n'habitent pas le monde de la même façon”, a novel that tells the story of an inmate who shares a cell with an angel of hell and whose ruling has been announced today at the French Embassy in Madrid.

Dubois imposed on Amélie Nothomb, favorite of the French press for his work "Soif", after a "hard-fought and interesting discussion", by five votes against four.

"Jean-Paul has created characters that are neither good nor bad, but are human, for good and for bad," said journalist and writer Carmen Posadas, who chaired the jury in this third edition of the Choix Goncourt Award in Spain with the author and member of the Goncourt Academy Pierre Assouline.

The jury was made up of students and professors from seven Spanish universities (Zaragoza, Alicante, Granada, Cádiz, Valladolid and the Autonomous and Complutense University of Madrid).

Born in Toulouse in 1950, Jean-Paul Dubois worked as a journalist until 2004, when he won the Femina prize for his novel "Une vie fraçais", he left the profession to devote himself fully to writing. After more than twenty novels, Goncourt puts the finishing touch on an excellent career as a writer.

The novel, which arrived in French stores in September, has been a bestseller and critics have acclaimed it as the work of the year. The Dubois phenomenon will be multiplied thanks to the award, whose prize is a symbolic check of ten euros, international projection and the security of being a sales success.

“Not all men inhabit the world in the same way” will be edited in Spain by Alliance of Editorial Novels (AdN).

The Choix Goncourt Prize was born in 1998 at the initiative of the Institut Français de Kraków. Spain has been the tenth country to join the initiative (Belgium, Italy, East, Romania, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Bulgaria and Switzerland). In 2017 she debuted as the winner of the first edition Alice Zeniter for her novel “L’art de perdre”, with veteran author Arturo Pérez-Reverte as president of the jury. The second edition, held in 2018, awarded the French author David Diop for “Frère d’ame”.

. (tagsToTranslate) Literature

Source link