July 27, 2021

Italy decrees the state of emergency of 11 regions after the storm

Italy decrees the state of emergency of 11 regions after the storm

The Council of Ministers of Italy decreed today the state of emergency of eleven Italian regions and two autonomous provinces and decided to mobilize 250 million euros to face the emergency, after the damages suffered as a result of the strong storm of recent days.

The Council of Ministers decided to declare this state of emergency to the regions of Calabria, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia-Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardy, Sardinia, Sicily, Tuscany and the Veneto and to the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano.

In addition, the meeting agreed to mobilize immediately 53.5 million euros to deal with the first operations, while in the coming days is expected to join this allocation another 200 million euros, which will help to resolve the situation , pending the final quantification of the damages.

The strong storm that affected Italy since October 2 caused 30 deaths.

The Italian authorities found in the last hours the lifeless body of the doctor disappeared in Corleone, in the province of Palermo (Sicily, south), after five days of intense searches.

The intense rains also caused considerable damage in various regions of the country and the Italian Minister of Infrastructure, Danilo Toninelli, recently quantified the damage in 3,000 million euros.


Source link