Sat. Mar 28th, 2020

Iran, Puerto Rico and Tunisia, rivals of Spain in the Chinese Basketball World Cup 2019 | sports

Iran, Puerto Rico and Tunisia, rivals of Spain in the Chinese Basketball World Cup 2019 | sports

The Spanish basketball team will play against Iran, Puerto Rico and Tunisia in the group stage of the China Basketball World 2019, according to the draw held this Saturday in the city of Shenzhen. Spain, trained by the Italian Sergio Scariolo, has been framed in Group C, so the tournament will begin in the south-eastern city of Canton, where they will play in a pavilion with capacity for 11,600 spectators. The group that has touched the Spanish national team is relatively affordable: Spain will measure itself against the national teams that are in positions 16, 27 and 51 of the world ranking that elaborates the International Basketball Federation (FIBA).

The great favorite and current champion, United States, will try to become the first country to take the World Cup three times in a row after doing so in 2010 and 2014, something that it will have to overcome in the group stage to Turkey, the Czech Republic and Japan.

The draw of the draw has been Spain, USA, France – which will play in Group G against the Dominican Republic, Germany and Jordan- and the organizer, China, which will measure Venezuela, Poland, Ivory Coast in group A.

The 2019 Chinese World Cup will be the largest in history with 32 selections and will be played between August 31 and September 15 in eight cities of the Asian country -Pekin, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Foshan, Shanghai, Nanjing, Shenzhen and Dongguan – In the first phase -of eight groups of four teams each-, each team will play three matches in a league format and the first two teams of each group will go to the second round, which will be played in the same format, with four groups of as many teams each. The president of the Spanish Basketball Federation (FEB), Jorge Garbajosa, attended Saturday's draw, officiated by former NBA player Kobe Bryant.

All the groups

This is the complete list of the eight groups of the first phase of the Basketball World Cup:

Group A: China, Venezuela, Poland, Cote d'Ivoire.

Group B: Argentina, Russia, South Korea, Nigeria.

Group C: Spain, Puerto Rico, Iran, Tunisia.

Group D: Serbia, Italy, Philippines, Angola.

Group E: USA, Turkey, Czech Republic, Japan.

Group F: Greece, Brazil, Montenegro, New Zealand.

Group G: France, Dominican Republic, Germany, Jordan.

Group H: Lithuania, Australia, Canada, Senegal.

You can follow EL PAÍS Sports in Facebook, Twitter or subscribe here to the Newsletter.

Source link