Granollers and Zeballos, eliminated in the semifinals by Kyrgios and Kokkinakis

Granollers and Zeballos.

Granollers and Zeballos.

The Spanish Marcel Granollers and the Argentine Horacio Zeballos (3) fell in the semifinals of the Australian Open doubles against the locals Nick Kyrgios and Thanasi Kokkinakis 7-6(4) and 6-4, on a Rod Laver Arena court that presented the best entrance to date and that tirelessly encouraged the 'aussie' couple. "I've played a lot of singles with incredible environments but nothing beats this," explained Nick Kyrgios after the conclusion of a clash that lasted as long as one hour and 47 minutes. “It's all for the atmosphere, never mind tennis. We bring a different charisma and we just have a good time, we are unpredictable,” added Kokkinakis.

The four players started with solvency on serve and kept all their services without giving up any break point, so the tiebreaker game would be responsible for deciding in the opening set. Kyrgios and Kokkinakis, dominant players on serve in individual competition, continued along the same lines while their opponents conceded two mini-breaks that would end up costing them the first set. The packed Rod Laver roared and kept the hosts inertia in a second set in which the Catalan Granollers let his serve slip in the first exchange. However, when the game seemed to be for a sentence, Kyrgios lost his serve and blamed a section of the stands for distracting him between the first and second, so ended up smashing his racket above the surface of the main stage in Melbourne Park. It would be the Spaniard again who would give up his service when the scoreboard looked unfavorable 5-4 and the Australians confirmed a final that will again have four local participants 42 years later.

In the other semifinal, the Australians Max Purcell and Matthew Ebden beat the American Rajeev Ram and the British Joe Salisbury (2) 6-3 and 7-6(9). The last time the final featured four local tennis players was in the 1980 edition, when Mark Edmonson and Kim Warwick beat compatriots Peter McNamara and Paul McNamee. The title match will be played this Saturday in the last night shift.

Source link