September 21, 2020

George R.R. Martin take advantage of the coronavirus quarantine to end ‘Winter Winds’ – La Provincia


It is difficult to try to get a positive side of the crude moment that the world is suffering because of coronavirus. The rapid spread of COVID-19 has forced half the planet to shut itself up in its home. Now artists have a lot of free time, and George R.R. Martin has great news for fans of ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’.

The author has decided to take advantage of the quarantine to complete his long-awaited novel ‘Winds of Winter’, the sixth in the ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ saga, which has been postponing for more than five years. Martin wrote an entry on his blog giving an update on his health, since due to his age and physical condition he is within the population at risk and added that he will take the opportunity to try to finish his new book.

“For those of you who may be concerned about me personally … yes, I am aware that I am among the most vulnerable population due to my age and physical condition,” wrote the novelist on his website. “But I feel good right now and we are taking every possible precaution.”

“I am alone, in a remote and isolated place, attended by one of my employees, and I will not go to the city or see anyone, “continues Martin.” The truth is, I spend more time in Westeros than in the real world. I am writing every day. Things are bleak in the Seven Kingdoms, but they may not be as bleak as they can be here. “

“Some days when I watch the news I feel like we’re living in a science fiction novel. But unfortunately, it’s not one of the novels I dreamed of as a child, the ones with cities on the Moon, colonies on Mars, flying cars, and household robots programmed with The Three Laws [de Isaac Asimov]. I never liked pandemic stories. Hopefully we all go through this safe and sound. Take care friends, prevention is better than cure, “says the author as a message of support and hope for his fans.

Martin has spent a long, long time writing ‘Winds of Winter’, the penultimate book in the saga that inspired ‘Game of Thrones’, and which will further distance itself from the criticized finale of the HBO series. Because the story in the novels is very different, and now that Martin has time, like everyone else, it is more important than ever to escape into fantasy worlds.

.



Source link