April 16, 2021

Gastn Mora begins the season with victory – La Provincia

Gastn Mora begins the season with victory - La Provincia

Gastón Mora started the season of the XIII Gran Canaria Orienteering League with victory. The current winner of the championship was imposed on his main rival last year, David Pérez Talavera. The test, held last Saturday at the Tafira Campus of the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (ULPGC), welcomed more than a hundred participants in the 14 scoring categories.

Although Mora took the victory in Elite, the best times in the first two of the 29 marks that made up the circuit were for the current champion of the M-45 category, Michael Löfgren. It was from the third point of control when the club's runner OrientaGC He took the lead and did not let go. Thus, he covered the course in 41 minutes and 3 seconds, followed by just over two minutes by David Pérez Talavera and 3 minutes and 49 seconds by Yeray Sosa Pérez, who took third place on the podium in a close fight with Fran Hernández and Héctor García, who finished fourth and fifth respectively less than a minute behind Sosa.

The category that this season presents as one of the most competitive is M-21 (over 21), which had 13 runners. The young people of the team Agüico They dominated in Tafira, with Gabriel Efrain Pérez as the main protagonist when stopping the clock in 43 minutes and 58 seconds. Pérez achieved a comfortable victory, with seven and a half minutes of difference with Valentino Pasquale and thirteen with Aitor Déniz Pérez, of OrientaGC. Modesto Castrillón, of the Arista team, and the current champion of the category, Óscar García, closed the top five in that order.

Among the young people of M-18, the victory went to Eduardo José Trujillo; while in M-35 Yeray Hernández Rivero began the season with triumph. In M-45 Gustavo de Armas He did the same for only 31 seconds of difference with Víctor Ocaña. In females, Noemí Sánchez Giraldo set the best time ahead of Sabela Torres Novoa and the German Maria Breutmann, who did not complete the course by committing an error in the number 24 mark.

The children also had their space last weekend at the ULPGC, with two categories in which boys and girls participate. Nayra Benito won in M ​​/ F14, followed by Amanda Llop and Sergio Hernández Artíles. And in M ​​/ F16, Adrián Guerra achieved the best time, César Augusto Pacheco was second and Julia Pasquale third.

The two pairs contests registered a wide participation, with about 40 runners. In the senior category, the duo formed by Guillermo Vega Ocaña and Nira Jiménez they stopped the clock in 48 minutes and 35 seconds. Seconds, eight minutes, Almudena Rodríguez Sánchez and Nelsón Hernández finished, while Verónica Domínguez and Saulo Padrón scored the third best record with 1 hour and 2 minutes. In veterans, Roman Dudek and Francisco Gómez dominated with authority and won with a clear advantage of 12 minutes difference with respect to Patricia Madrid and Juan Carlos Castellano, champions of last season in this category. Third parties ended David Cuevas and Borja Suarez 28 minutes away from the victors.

The test in the Campus of Tafira also served for the delivery of trophies from last season. The next race of the XIII Gran Canaria Orienteering League will be held on March 10 in The Calderilla, Saint Matthew.


Source link