Wed. Feb 26th, 2020

From Sergio García to Marc Márquez, the Spaniards awarded in the Laureus

Rafa Nadal has won it three times in three different categories

Sergio García was the first Spanish winner in the Laureus galas. He received the prize to the World Promise of the year in the first edition, in the year 2000. Since then Spanish athletes have received nine awards, but none as constant as Rafael Nadal, who has received it in three years and in three different categories.

The Balearic tennis player received his first statuette in the year 2006 Also the promise of the year, as Sergio García. Then he repeated in 2011, by winning the Sportsman of the Year trophy and in 2014, when he was awarded for the Best International Reappearance of the year.

Sergio García was awarded again in 2018 as Best Revelation of the year. Marc Márquez is the other Spaniard who has won the Best Revelation trophy of the year, in 2014.

The rest of the Spanish winners correspond to football. In 2007, Barcelona received the Laureus Academy Award for the Spirit of Sport for its alliance with UNICEF. In 2012 the Barca team was the best international team of the year and in 2017 the winner was his Infantil B for the Best Sports Moment of the year.

In 2011 the Spanish soccer team was awarded the prize to Best International Team of the year after winning the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.


Source link