July 29, 2021

Francisca Aguirre, National Literature Prize 2018

Francisca Aguirre, National Literature Prize 2018

The jury of the National Prize of Spanish Literature has awarded Francisca Aguirre Benito the prize corresponding to 2018. The award, granted by the Ministry of Culture and Sports, is endowed with 40,000 euros.

The National Prize for Literature distinguishes all literary work, in any of the Spanish languages, from a Spanish author, whose work is considered an integral part of current Spanish literature.

The jury chose this work for "being their poetry (the most Machadian of the generation of the half century) between desolation and clairvoyance, lucidity and pain, whispering (more than saying) words located between consciousness and memory" .

Francisca Aguirre (Alicante, 1930) is the daughter of the painter Lorenzo Aguirre, to whom he dedicated the poetry book Trescientos escalones. His first collection of poems, poetry prize Leopoldo Panero, was 'Ithaca'. Since then, and with the exception of the 1980s, the author has continued to publish her work in an uninterrupted manner.

Aguirre wins the National Poetry Prize in 2011 with his collection of poems, Historia de una anatomía (2010), a book with which he won the Miguel Hernández 2010 prize.

She is the author of the books of poems, in addition to those previously mentioned: 'Essay General' (Premio Esquío 1995), 'Pavana del desasosiego' (Premio María Isabel Fernández Simal 1998), 'Nanas para dormir desperdicios' (Alfons el Magnànim Award 2007) ) and History of an anatomy '(2010) for which he received the International Poetry Prize' Miguel Hernández-Comunidad Valenciana 'and the National Poetry Prize in 2011.

She is also the author of the book of stories 'Que planche Rosa Luxemburgo' for which she won the Galiana Prize in 1994 and the book of memories 'Espejito, espejito'. His works have been translated into French, Italian, Portuguese and Arabic.

The jury was chaired by Olvido García Valdés, general director of the Book and Promotion of Reading and as vice president has acted Begoña Cerro, deputy director general of Book Promotion, Reading and Spanish Literature, as well as members at the proposal of different institutions and the last awarded author in the 2017 edition, Rosa Montero.


Source link