Sat. Apr 20th, 2019

Foster, Moneo and Sanaa choose to reform the Fine Arts of Bilbao

Foster, Moneo y Sanaa optan a reformar el Bellas Artes de Bilbao

Relevant architecture names such as the Pritzker Prizes Norman Foster and Rafael Moneo and renowned international architecture studios such as the Japanese Sanaa will compete to win the contest to reform the Museum of Fine Arts in Bilbao. The jury in charge of selecting the architecture studios that will choose to carry out this expansion met on Monday, under the chairmanship of its director and the centenary art gallery, Miguel Zugaza, and chose the six finalist studies from among the 57 Applicants presented.

Sponsored Ads

Advertise Here

One of the selected ones was the study of the renowned British architect and Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts in 2009, Norman Foster, who designed and executed the Bilbao Metro in the 90s of the last century. He has also selected the study of the internationally awarded Navarro architect Rafael Moneo, Premo Pritzker (equivalent to the Nobel Prize for Architecture) in 1996, who, like Foster, has work in the Abandoibarra urban regeneration area in Bilbao, where he built the Library from the University of Deusto.


The winning idea will be proclaimed between July 22 and 29

Moneo is presented alone to the competition, as well as the study of the Madrid architect Nieto Sobejano, awarded with the Alvar Aalto medal, granted by the Museum dedicated to the famous Finnish designer, and author, among other projects, of the Zaragoza Conference Center and the Center of Contemporary Creation of Andalusia. Among the chosen international studios is the Bjarke Ingels Group, better known by its acronym BIG, founded in 2005 and directed by the Danish architect Bjarke Ingels. His are the finished projects of the Danish Pavilion at the Expo 2010 in Shanghai (China), the Beach and Howe tower in Vancouver (Canada) and the construction of the New Tamayo Museum, in Mexico City, the National Library of Astana (Kazakhstan) and the Kaufhauskanal, Hamburg (Germany).

The fifth international study chosen is the Norwegian Snohetta, founded in 1989 by Inge Dahlman, Berit Hartveit, Johan Johan Østengen, Alf Haukeland and Vanko Varbanov, among other Norwegian professionals. It is a renowned international architecture, landscape and design firm based in Oslo, responsible, among other works, for the Library of Alexandria, in Egypt; the Oslo Opera, in Norway; the Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco and a restaurant submerged in Lindesnes (Norway).

The last study chosen is the Japanese Sanaa Jimusho, founded by the architect Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, who have been distinguished with the Pritzker Prize for Architecture in 2010. This Japanese study is responsible for the project of expansion or reform of numerous museum institutions such as the Valencian Institute of Modern Art, the Contemporary Art Museum in Sydney (Australia), the Modern Art Museum in New York and the installation of the Japan Pavilion for the Venice Biennale in 2000. The six chosen ones will now have three months to present a project to reform and expand the Museum of Fine Arts of Bilbao, and the winning idea will be proclaimed between July 22 and 29.

The winning studio will receive a prize of 30,000 euros, while the other 5 finalists will receive a financial compensation of 20,000 euros each for their participation. The final draft of the project will be endowed with a fee of 1,577,000 euros. According to the calendar managed by the Museum, it is expected that the renovation and expansion works will begin between March and April 2021, with an estimated duration of 18 months and that are completed and can be inaugurated between September and October 2022. The project of expansion has a total budget of 18 million euros.

Source link

Leave a Reply