August 3, 2020

Foment distinguishes Luca de Meo (Seat) with the Entrepreneur of the Year Medal

The employer Foment del Treball has awarded the President of Seat, Luca de Meo, the Medal of Honor to the Entrepreneur of the Year for his leadership at the head of the company and has awarded two other posthumous medals to Sebastià Salvadó and Miquel Valls.

Luca de Meo will collect the award tomorrow, Monday, during the XII edition of the Carles Ferrer Salat Awards, in an act attended, among others, by the President of the Generalitat, Quim Torra, and the Minister of Economy, Nadia Calviño; Treasury, María Jesús Montero; and Defense, Margarita Robles.

In addition to Torra, the Government delegation will be composed of the Catalan Vice President and Minister of Economy, Pere Aragonès, and the Business and Knowledge holders, Àngels Chacón; of Labor and Social Affairs and Family, Chakir el Homrani; and of Territory and Sustainability, Damià Calvet.

The Medals of Honor and the Carles Ferrer Salat Awards, which are given annually, recognize the work done by companies and prominent businessmen during the last year or throughout their professional career.

With the medal to Luca de Meo, Foment del Treball, integrated in the CEOE, distinguishes the work of the businessman in charge of the automobile subsidiary of the Volkswagen Group, which is chaining sales records and is immersed in an expansive cycle in full digital transformation of the sector.

The employer who presides over Josep Sánchez Llibre has also wanted to underline De Meo's strategic vision "by transforming the vehicle under a new concept of mobility, connectivity and creative innovation" and by placing Seat as one of the fastest growing brands in Europe, as highlighted by the organization in a statement.

Seat sold in 2018 the record figure of 518,000 vehicles and made a profit of 294 million euros, the largest in its history.

The car based in Martorell (Barcelona) represents almost 3% of exports and is the first industrial R&D investor in Spain.

In addition to the aforementioned entrepreneurs, the jury of this edition has awarded the Torrons Vicens companies for their work of social commitment; to Schneider Electric Spain, for its commitment to innovation; to Celsa Group, for its responsibility in the environment; Castañer, for his internationalization strategy; to Nestlé for its equality policies; and Byhours as Pyme of the Year.

In the case of Sebastià Salvadó, the medal recognizes his work as president of the RACC, an organization that is a world leader in the field of mobility; and that of Miquel Valls emphasizes his "responsibility" and his "dialogue attitude" during the 17 years at the head of the Cambra de Barcelona.

Last year Foment distinguished Naturgy's executive president, Francisco Reynés, with the Medal of Honor to the Entrepreneur of the Year for his professional career.

Last year's gala generated great excitement because Pedro Sánchez and Quim Torra came to her just after holding a meeting at the Pedralbes Palace in Barcelona.

. (tagsToTranslate) Foment (t) Luca (t) Seat (t) Medal (t) Entrepreneur

Source link