June 15, 2021

Dominican Republic establishes curfew for coronavirus

The Dominican President, Danilo Medina, ordered this Friday a curfew for the coronavirus, prohibiting the transit and movement of people from 8:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

The curfew is effective as of this Friday and will be in effect until Friday, April 3, according to a decree published by the Government.

The only exceptions to the curfew are duly accredited doctors and health personnel, security sector workers and journalists.

The country has been in a state of emergency since last Thursday and, in addition, commercial, academic, and cultural activities have been restricted, as well as the borders have been closed.

The number of confirmed cases of coronavirus in the Dominican Republic reached 72 patients and two deaths, as reported today by the Ministry of Health.

In a speech to the nation on Tuesday night, Medina announced the state of emergency decree and a series of measures that began to be applied this Thursday, including the closure of the borders within 15 days.

Likewise, it ordered the suspension for fifteen days of all commercial activities, with the exception of supermarkets, grocery stores, gas stations, pharmacies, and other basic services.

All cultural, artistic and sporting events and teaching at all educational levels, from basic to university, were also suspended.

Likewise, massive proselytizing acts were banned in the face of the presidential and legislative elections of next May 17, whose campaign formally began last Tuesday.

The Dominican Government has not imposed a quarantine, but it has exhorted the population to stay home and has asked companies to facilitate teleworking.


Source link