Cuba will elect new Government in Parliament session next October 10

On October 10, Cuba will elect the main offices of a new Government, including those of president and vice president in an extraordinary session of the National Assembly of Popular Power (unicameral Parliament) of the island.

In that meeting the president, vice president and secretary of the National Assembly and those of the State Council will also be elected, the call published Monday in state media on the island said.

One of the transitory provisions of the Electoral Law passed last July - in compliance with the Constitution proclaimed on April 10 of this year - establishes that the National Assembly has a period of three months to elect its highest management, as well as the President and Vice President of the Republic.

The new Electoral Law maintains the process of direct election of deputies and reduces the composition of the State Council -maximum governing body of the country-, from 31 to 21 members, including its management.

In addition, Parliament will continue to elect the president and vice-presidents of the country from among its members, so the door to direct presidential elections remains closed.

The current president of Cuba, Miguel Díaz-Canel, was elected by that procedure in April 2018, when he relieved Raúl Castro, who left the reins of the Government in compliance with the limitation of mandates to a maximum of ten years decreed By himself.

Díaz-Canel, 59, became the first president who does not have the last name Castro in almost 60 years and is expected to be re-elected to office.

Once elected the president of the Republic - until now known as "president of the Council of State and Ministers" - this will be responsible for appointing the prime minister, both positions instituted by the new Magna Carta.

He will also propose the candidacy of the governor and provincial vice-governors - new figures instituted in the Constitution - that will be chosen by the municipal delegates of each territory.

Among the main changes included in the Cuban Constitution are also the creation of the National Electoral Commission as a permanent body and the modification of the proportion of deputies in search of a better territorial distribution in the representation of the Assembly, which will have 474 members instead of the current 605.

Three types of elections are established: the municipal ones, where the delegates to the Municipal Assemblies (councilors) are elected; the national, to select the deputies, and that of governors.

The electoral procedure does not vary for municipal delegates, whose candidacies are proposed directly by the neighbors, while those of the deputies to the National Assembly will continue to be in charge of candidate commissions.

. (tagsToTranslate) Cuba (t) will elect (t) Government (t) Parliament (t) next

Source link