Thu. Apr 18th, 2019

Cervantes Prize 2018

Cervantes Prize 2018

Narrators like Luis Goytisolo, Enrique Vila Matas or Javier Marías and poets like María Victoria Atencia or Ida Vitale are some of the candidates Cervantes Prize 2018, considered the Nobel Prize for Literature in Castilian, an award that fails today, and that is endowed with 125,000 euros.

Sponsored Ads

Advertise Here

The Minister of Culture and Sports, José Guirao, will announce today the name of the winner of the Cervantes Prize 2018, an award that has only recognized four women in more than 40 years of life: the Spanish María Zambrano (1988) and Ana María Matute (2010), the Cuban Dulce María Loynaz (1992) and the Mexican Elena Poniatowska (2013) ).

Although it is not included in the prize, it is usually an unwritten law that alternates Cervantes between Latin America and Spain, so that in 2017 it was won by the Nicaraguan Sergio Ramírez, this year it would correspond to a Spanish author. The one in 2016 was Eduardo Mendoza (Barcelona, ​​1943).

In the event that it was an author or author of Spanish nationality, among the names that are shuffled to obtain the prestigious award, in addition to Atencia, Goytisolo, Vila Matas and Marias, include Álvaro Pombo, Manuel Alcántara or Francisco Brines, among others.

If the prize travels to the other side of the Atlantic, the authors with more possibilities are the Uruguayan Ida Vitale and the Chileans Óscar Hahn, Rafael Cadenas and Antonio Skármeta.


Source link

Leave a Reply