Calviño's defeat reveals the Eurogroup's distrust of Sánchez's team

Brussels correspondent



At least ten votes were needed from the 19 ministers who make up the Eurogroup. In the first vote none of the three candidates obtained them. Nadia Calviño she started as the great favorite to be elected as president of the Eurogroup, especially when France announced yesterday that she was opting for her candidacy, but still with the support of the four largest countries in the Eurozone (Spain, France, Italy and Germany), the little ones have imposed their favorite, the Irish Paschal Donohoe, of the popular group, which has benefited from the withdrawal of the third in disagreement, the Luxembourg liberal Pierre Gramegna.

Although the vote is secret, to avoid jeopardizing future relations between the economy ministers, from the leaks


Source link