Bottas and Hamilton lead the first free practice at Imola

A picture of Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen in Imola.

A picture of Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen in Imola.

Finnish Valtteri Bottas and the british Lewis hamilton achieved the first two positions for Mercedes in the first free practice session of the Grand Prix of the Emilia Romagna from Formula One.

With a time of 1: 16.564 in the Imola circuit, Valtteri Bottas settled at the top of the standings, with a margin of 41 thousandths over his teammate and World Cup leader, Lewis hamilton, winner of the race held three weeks ago in Bahrain.

Dutch Max verstappen (Red Bull) was third, 0.058 seconds behind Bottas, at the start of the second round of the championship.

The Monegasque Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), the French Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri), the Spanish Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) and his compatriot Fernando Alonso (Alpine) were distributed fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh, respectively, in a session marked by two incidents.

With 22 minutes to go, Free Practice 1 was momentarily interrupted after an accident in which the Frenchman Esteban Ocon (Alpine) and the Mexican were involved. Sergio perez (Red Bull).

With the clock already at zero, the Russian Nikita Mazepin left the track. The Haas driver hit the wall after stepping on the clay in the pit lane entrance area.

None of them could fight for the top-10, which was completed by the Canadians Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) and Nicholas Latifi (Williams) and the Australian Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren).

Pérez, Ocon and Mazepin finished in sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth position.

At 14.30 CET, the drivers will return to the track to complete the second free practice session, which will also last one hour at the Enzo and Dino Ferrari Autodrome.

Classification of the first free practice session:

1.Valtteri Bottas (FIN / Mercedes) 1: 16.564

2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR / Mercedes) at 0.041

3.Max verstappen (NED / Red Bull) at 0.058

Four. Charles Leclerc (MON / Ferrari) at 0.232

5. Pierre Gasly (FRA / AlphaTauri) at 0.324

6. Carlos Sainz (ESP / Ferrari) at 0.324

7. Fernando Alonso (ESP / Alpine) at 0.893

8. Lance Stroll (CAN / Aston Martin) at 0.925

9. Nicholas Latifi (CAN / Williams) at 1,175

10. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS / McLaren) to 1,205

eleven. George Russell (GBR / Williams) at 1,302

12. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN / Alfa Romeo) at 1,319

13. Lando norris (GBR / McLaren) to 1,371

14. Sebastian Vettel (ALE / Aston Martin) to 1,420

fifteen. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA / Alfa Romeo) to 1,494

16. Sergio Pérez (MEX / Red Bull) to 1,664

17. Esteban Ocon (FRA / Alpine) at 1,796

18. Nikita Mazepin (RUS / Haas) at 2,259

19. Mick Schumacher (ALE / Haas) at 2,916

20. Yuki Tsunoda (JPN / AlphaTauri) at 3,217


Source link