December 1, 2020

Belarusian opposition, 2020 Sakharov Prize for freedom of conscience from the European Parliament

The European Parliament on Thursday awarded the Belarusian opposition its annual prize for freedom of conscience. The candidacy was supported by the main groups –Popular, socialists and liberals – to “recognize the democratic opposition represented by the Coordinating Council, initiative of brave women: the main opposition candidate, Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya; the Nobel Prize winner Svetlana Alexievich; the musician and political activist Maryia Kalesnikava; and the activists politicians Volha Kavalkova and Veranika Tsapkala, as well as political and civil society figures such as video blogger and political prisoner Siarhei Tsikhanouski; Ales Bialiatski, founder of the Belarusian human rights organization Viasna; Siarhei Dyleuski; Stsiapan Putsila, founder of the Telegram channel NEXTA ; and Mikola Statkevich, political prisoner and presidential candidate in the 2010 elections “.

The EU unlocks the sanctions against Belarus and gives Turkey two months to ease tensions in the eastern Mediterranean

The EU unlocks the sanctions against Belarus and gives Turkey two months to ease tensions in the eastern Mediterranean

Know more

From the initial list of names has been dropped Paval Sieviaryniec, expelled from the journalists and writers association PEN Club for his homophobic opinions.

Three weeks ago the EU approved to unblock the sanctions against Belarus and gives Turkey two months to ease tensions in the eastern Mediterranean, although the country’s top leader for a quarter of a century, Aleksander Lukashenko, who has been in office for a quarter of a century power and whose victory on August 9 is not recognized by the EU, is currently out of the list of four dozen people.

“We can say that the sanctions against the leaders in Belarus are coming into force, that is, the European Union is now acting against those who oppose democratic movements. I think this is a very important signal,” said German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The Greens and the Unitary Left were betting on the environmentalists of Guapinol, members of the Municipal Committee in Defense of the Common and Public Goods of Tocoa and prisoners for their participation in a peaceful protest camp against a mining company, whose activities had caused the contamination of the Guapinol and San Pedro rivers. And also for Berta Cáceres, assassinated in March 2016, for her environmental activism and for the land rights of the Lenka indigenous community in Honduras.

The President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli, recalled, in the speech in which he announced the award for the Belarusian opposition, one of the Guanipol activists, Arnold Joaquín Morazan Erazo, recently assassinated in Honduras.

ID, the far-right group Salvini and Le Pen, proposed to award Najeeb Moussa Michaeel, Archbishop of Mosul, for ensuring the evacuation of Christians and Chaldeans to Iraqi Kurdistan and protecting more than 800 historical manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 19th centuries. .

In addition, a quarantine of MEPs from different groups had promoted, without making it to the final phase of finalists, the candidacy of Polish LGBTI activists Jakub Gawron, Paulina Pajak and Paweł Preneta, Kamil Maczuga, who founded the Atlas of Hate website in 2019 . Today, more than 100 municipalities or local authorities in Poland have declared themselves “LGBTI-free zones”. In 2020, Gawron, Pajak and Preneta were sued by five of those municipalities for damaging their reputations and demanding a public apology and financial compensation from “family-friendly organizations” in all five regions.


Source link