July 25, 2021

Ayrton Senna, the fastest driver in the history of F1, with Fernando Alonso fifth – La Provincia

The Formula 1, supported by an algorithm developed by Amazon Web Services, has identified the Brazilian Ayrton Senna as the fastest rider after analyzing data taken since 1983, a classification in which the Spanish Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz they appear in the fifth and fourteenth positions, respectively.

F1 and Amazon have been slow one year of work in creating this algorithm that analyzes qualifying sessions and compares the performance of the drivers compared to their teammates to establish a definitive ranking, which means that a driver who fights for the ‘pole’ has the same chances as another who competes in the lower zone by having a worse car.

In addition, the authors of the classification also took into account outliers such as accidents, breakdowns, changing weather conditions and even the age of the pilots to create a list as fair as possible.

With all these variables in mind, the fastest is the late Senna, who achieved 65 pole positions throughout his career, ahead of the two most successful drivers in history, Michael Schumacher and Lewis hamilton, which appear second and third, respectively.

From behind, the fourth place is for Max verstappen and the fifth for the double world champion Fernando Alonso, who next season he will return to F1 with the Renault team. They complete the ‘Top 10’ Nico Rosberg (6), Charles Leclerc (7), Heikki Kovalainen (8), Jarno Trulli (9) and the four-time champion Sebastián Vettel (10), while Carlos Sainz placed fourteenth.


1. Ayrton Senna

2. Michael Schumacher at 0.114 seconds.

3. Lewis Hamilton 0.275.

4. Max Verstappen 0.280.


6. Nico Rosberg 0.374.

7. Charles Leclerc 0.376.

8. Heikki Kovalainen 0.378.

9. Jarno Trulli 0.409.

10 Sebastian Vettel 0.435.

11.Rubens Barrichello 0.445.

12.Nico Hulkenberg 0.456.

13.Valtteri Bottas 0.457.

14.CARLOS SAINZ 0.457.

fifteen.Lando norris 0.459.

16.Daniel Ricciardo 0.461.

17.Jenson Button 0.462.

18.Robert Kubica 0.463.

19 Giancarlo Fisichella 0.469.

20.Alain Prost 0.514.


Source link