Alonso and Sainz will start fifth and last in the Turkish GP

The British pilot Lewis hamilton (Mercedes) achieved pole position this Saturday for the race of the Turkish Grand Prix, the sixteenth round of the World Championship. Formula 1, although his sanction will make the Finn Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) come out first, while the Spanish Fernando Alonso (Alpine) will start fifth and Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) shall come back from the last place after changing the engine.

Hamilton, intractable this weekend in Istanbul, he will not be able to defend his World Championship lead from pole, as he will have to serve ten penalty places on the grid for the release of a new internal combustion engine. His teammate Bottas will start alone from the front row of the grid, while the Dutch Max verstappen (Red Bull), the main rival of the seven-time world champion for the title, will benefit from his suspension and will start second.

For his part, Alonso managed to go to the final round with the fifth best time and Sainz, who jumped onto the track to give his teammate a slipstream. Charles Leclerc, did not mark time and was eliminated. Along with Madrid the Germans also fell Sebastian vettel (Aston Martin) and Mick Schumacher (Haas), the Frenchman Esteban Ocon (Alpine) and the British George Russell (Williams).

In the final fight, Bottas took the lead, although Hamilton emerged like a breath to take a pole that will not have a prize; must start from eleventh place. After the Scandinavian will depart Verstappen, Leclerc, Gasly, Alonso, the Mexican Sergio ‘Checo’ Pérez (Red Bull), Britain’s Lando Norris (McLaren), Canadian Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) and Japanese Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri).


Source link